And flan is gelatin and gelatin is animal parts.
My youngest daughter is a vegetarian and she loves flan. She is not vegan. But lately I've begun to think she may be leaning that way.
She loves flan. Almost as much as I do. Which is, in case you may not know, an awful lot.
I've never made it. I get it at restaurants. And sometimes the grocery store, but not often. And once a student made some for me. But I've never made it.
So I was unaware of the ingredients.
I never thought gelatin.
And frankly, if I had, I probably wouldn't have gotten very excited.
But she did. Very excited indeed. Agitated, you might even say.
She is pretty firm in her conviction, a conviction the rest of the family does not share. As she is never obnoxious or preachy about it, I find it easy to be respectful of her decision. She never says, "you shouldn't do this", she just says, "I won't do this". PETA take note. Much easier to take someone seriously when they express their opinions respectfully. Just sayin'.
The more she is able to research things for herself, though, the more difficult it becomes.
She won't wear leather. Shoes.
Wait'll she finds out the upright bass is held together with hide glue.
Wait'll she hears about the conditions dairy cows endure.
Good bye, milk.
Good bye, cheese.
A little ignorance can be bliss. And bliss tastes a lot like flan.